Teammates

Teammates allows multiple users, or Teammates, to send emails from a single SendGrid account. It enables groups of users with different roles and responsibilities to share one account, where each of these users has access to varying SendGrid features depending on their needs. By only giving your individual team members access to the features that they need to do their jobs, you can limit access to sensitive areas of your account. Teammates makes it easy to add, remove, and manage different users.

Free and Essentials plans allow for adding one Teammate per account and do not offer Single Sign-On (SSO), while Pro and higher plans allow for up to 1000 Teammates and include SSO and other features. Learn more about the different Email API Plans.

Adding Teammates

As an account owner or administrator, you can add a Teammate to your SendGrid account. Depending on your Email API Plan, you have the option to add a password or an SSO Teammate. A password Teammate logs in with a username, password, and Twilio SendGrid 2FA (when configured), while the latter logs in via SSO.

Free and Essentials Plans

You can add one password Teammate to your account on the SendGrid UI:

  1. Navigate to Settings, and click on Teammates.
    This is where you can see the list of all of your current Teammates with their details: username, email address, first name, and last name.
  2. To add a new Teammate, click Add Teammate.
  3. Enter the Teammate's email address and then select their permission level.
    Depending on the selected permission level, you may need to do some additional permission configuration.
  4. Click Invite.
    Your pending invitation should appear on the Invited list next to All. The Invited list contains the email address of the invitee and the invitation expiration date.

Pro and Premier Plans

You can add up to 1,000 Teammates to your account. On these plans, you have the option to add a Teammate via password or SSO authentication:

Adding a password Teammate

  1. Navigate to Settings, and click on Teammates.
  2. On the Teammates page, click Add Teammate > Add password Teammate.
  3. Refer to steps 3 and 4 on Adding Teammates: Free and Essentials Plans.

Adding an SSO Teammate

Before adding an SSO Teammate, enable Single Sign-On for your SendGrid account. To add a Teammate:

  1. Navigate to Settings, and click on Teammates.
  2. Click Add Teammate > Add SSO Teammate.
  3. Enter the Teammate's email address, first name, and last name.
  4. Select Add to this parent account or Add to specific subuser accounts. If you're adding a Teammate to the parent account, select their permissions. Click Invite. If you're adding a Teammate to a specific subuser account, search for the subuser account on the next screen to assign the new Teammate to. Click Save.

Teammate invitations are valid for 7 days. Before the expiration, you can resend or delete the invitation.

While only account owners and administrators can create Teammates, it is possible for one administrator to create another Teammate with administrator permissions. This new Teammate will then be able to create and manage other Teammates and have access to the account's billing settings. Please be very careful about assigning administrator permissions.

Only administrator Teammates may impersonate subusers.

Receiving a Teammate invitation

After a SendGrid account administrator adds you as a Teammate, there will be several steps in the onboarding flow.

Password Teammate invitation

  1. First, you should receive a welcome email with a link to setting up your profile. Clicking this link takes you to a SendGrid dialog to set up account credentials (username or email and password).
  2. After this, you’ll receive another email inviting you to set up 2FA, either via Authy or SMS.
  3. Answering the 2FA challenge will open a new SendGrid window asking you to log in, using the credentials you just established. Upon successful login, you get redirected to the main SendGrid welcome screen.

SSO Teammate invitation

Please consult with your SSO administrator for logging in as an SSO Teammate and understanding your SendGrid account permissions.

Managing Teammates

Configuring permissions

The three different permission levels are:

  • Restricted Access - Teammates with no access to a feature cannot change that feature’s settings or view it within the SendGrid UI. However, you can still grant them access to specific features.
  • Read-only Access - Teammates with read-only access will not be able to change or configure a feature. However, they will be able to view any information provided by that feature.
  • Admin - Teammates with full access that can view and make any changes.

If you select Invite with Restricted Access when inviting a Teammate, you need to select a preset access level or create your own by selecting Custom Access. You can choose from several pre-defined permission levels to fit a variety of roles: Developer Access, Marketer Access, and Accountant Access or you can customize access for the Teammate.

To modify an existing Teammate's permissions:

  1. Navigate to the Teammates Page under Settings.
  2. Under the list of current teammates, click the action menu next to the teammate you would like to edit.
  3. Click Edit to open a modal window presenting the teammate's current permissions.
  4. Make your desired changes and click Update.

Removing Teammates

To delete a Teammate:

  1. Navigate to the Teammates Page under Settings.
  2. Click the action menu next to the Teammate you want to delete and click Delete.

You cannot recover deleted Teammates. Once a Teammate has been deleted, it can never be restored. SendGrid will not remove any templates, campaigns, contacts, or API keys created by the Teammate.

Requesting feature access

If you are already signed into a SendGrid account as a Teammate, but do not have access to a page or feature, you may request access to that page by clicking Request Access.

Once a request is made, all account administrators receive a notification via email that a request is pending approval.

Granting feature access

You can find any access requests listed under Pending Requests on the Teammates page in your Settings. The request will list the username of the Teammate, their email address, their first and last names, along with the feature that they requested access to.

To grant that Teammate access to the feature, click Approve.

By clicking "Approve" you are giving that Teammate full access to the feature! If you only want to give them limited access to the feature, you must navigate back to their Teammate settings to make adjustments to their granular permissions.

If you do not want to grant them access, click Deny.

For a complete list of permissions or scopes available to a Teammate, see Teammate Permissions.

The Teammate receives a notification email when they are either granted or denied access. SendGrid delivers these emails, but the "reply to" address is the email address on file for the account owner.

Teammates and API Keys

API Keys are used to authenticate API calls. Just as a Teammate can be given specific permissions, API keys can be assigned specific permissions to restrict which API calls they can authenticate.

You can use API Keys and Teammates as different methods of restricting access to the same SendGrid features.

However, a Teammate cannot change their own permissions via API key. For example, a Teammate with restricted access to features in the SendGrid user interface but full access to API Keys cannot make an API call to modify their permissions in the UI.

Rate this page:

Need some help?

We all do sometimes. Get help now from the Twilio SendGrid Support Team.

Running into a coding hurdle? Lean on the wisdom of the crowd by browsing the SendGrid tag on Stack Overflow or visiting Twilio's Stack Overflow Collective.

Thank you for your feedback!

Please select the reason(s) for your feedback. The additional information you provide helps us improve our documentation:

Sending your feedback...
🎉 Thank you for your feedback!
Something went wrong. Please try again.

Thanks for your feedback!

thanks-feedback-gif